Yves Jongen – Advisory Board Member

Yves Jongen is Chief Research Officer for Ion Beam Applications. After founding IBA in 1986, he served as general manager and co-general manager of the company until March 2000, when he assumed his current role. Founded in Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium, IBA has become a world leader in particle accelerator technology and its applications, particularly in medical imaging, cancer therapy and sterilization.
Prior to founding IBA, Mr. Jongen served for 16 years as manager of the UCL Cyclotron Research Center, a multidisciplinary organization established by the Catholic University of Louvain-la-Neuve (UCL), with several cyclotrons for fundamental and applied research. He holds a dozen patents and is the author of approximately 200 publications in the particle accelerator field and their applications. In May 2013 Yves was nominated for the European Patent Office’s Lifetime Achievement Award for his work in proton therapy.
Mr. Jongen graduated cum laude from UCL in 1970 as a Civil Engineer in electronics and earned an additional certificate in nuclear sciences. He has received the Georges Vanderlinden prize for science, given by the Belgium Royal Academy, for his work in Physics and Electricity, and shared the magazine Trends-Tendances 1997 Entrepreneur of the year honors for the French speaking part of Belgium with IBA CEO Pierre Mottet.

Brian Krolicki – Advisory Board Member

A veteran of the private banking industry and multiple-time Nevada Lieutenant Governor and State Treasurer, Brian began his career on Wall Street working with high-profile firms such as Smith Barney and Bankers Trust Company. A temporary foray into a state government role unexpectedly led to his 24-year career in public service, and to four sweeping election victories to the Nevada Constitutional Offices of Lieutenant Governor and State Treasurer.  Brian is the first person in Nevada history to be term-limited twice.
As Lieutenant Governor, Brian led Nevada’s economic expansion efforts and spearheaded strategic legislation that prompted the state’s emergence as an economic innovator and a preferred location for new and expanding businesses. He served in a wide variety of critical positions, including Chairman of the Nevada Commission on Economic Development and President of the Nevada State Senate for most of the past decade.
During his tenure as State Treasurer, Nevada became the first state treasury to receive the Certificate of Excellence in Investment Policy. Brian was honored with the prestigious Award for Excellence in Public Finance and, in 2004, earned the distinction the nation’s “Most Outstanding State Treasurer.” In his capacity as State Treasurer he was also instrumental in securing key $50M financing for the establishment of the Nevada Cancer Institute in 2005.
Brian is a graduate of Stanford University, and currently serves on multiple corporate and non-profit boards.

Raphael Pfeffer, Dr. M. – Advisory Board Member

Dr. Pfeffer is Chief of Oncology Division at Assuta Medical Centers – the largest and leading private medical services group in Israel – and a senior lecturer at the Tel-Aviv University School of Medicine.
Prior to Assuta he held key radiotherapy roles at the University of Michigan Hospital in Ann Harbor, Sheba Medical Center, Hadassah University Hospital, and the Israeli Army Medical Corps.
Dr. Pfeffer is a world-renowned specialist in the field of radiation therapy, serving as reviewer and committee chair/member for leading international journals and professional societies.
A native of Manchester, England, Dr. Pfeffer received his medical education at University College in London.  He then trained as a radiation oncologist at the Harvard Joint Center for Radiation Therapy in Boston, and at the Shaarei-Tzedek Hospital and Hadassah University Hospital (Hebrew University) in Jerusalem.

Alfred R. Smith, PhD – Advisory Board Member

Dr. Smith is a medical physicist with over 43 years experience; 30 years of that experience has been in particle therapy. Most recently he served as Professor of Radiation Physics and Radiation Oncology at the University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas – where he was Director, Proton Therapy Development for the proton therapy facility there. He is currently a consultant in Proton Therapy Development.
Prior to that he was a Professor of Radiation Physics at the Harvard Medical School in Boston, Massachusetts  and Radiation Biophysicist at the Massachusetts General Hospital where he was Director of Proton Medical Physics for the proton therapy program at the Harvard Cyclotron Laboratory and co-developer of the Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH) proton therapy center. He then served as Associate Director of Northeast Proton Therapy Center, Massachusetts General Hospital.
Before Harvard and MGH Dr. Smith served as Professor, Department of Radiation Physics, Division of Radiation Oncology, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine; Cancer Expert at the National Cancer Institute;  Assistant Professor, Department of Radiation Physics, Division of Radiation Oncology, University of New Mexico Cancer Research & Treatment Center and Medical Physics Director for Pion Therapy at the Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory; and Assistant Professor at The University of Texas, M. D. Anderson Hospital and Tumor Institute, Houston, TX.
Dr. Smith has published over 110 peer-reviewed papers, articles and book chapters and  has given dozens of presentations . He has served as President and Chairman of the Board of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (1990-1991) and served as Chairman of the Particle Therapy Co-operative Group (PTCOG) between 2004-2007. He holds a BA in Mathematics from Eastern New Mexico University and an MSc and PhD in Physics from Texas Tech University. He completed his Postdoctoral Fellowship in Medical Physics at The University of Texas, M. D. Anderson Hospital and Tumor Institute in Houston, Texas.

Zelig Tochner, MD – Advisory Board Member

Prof. Tochner is the medical director of the Roberts Proton Therapy Center at the University of Pennsylvania Medical Center, one of the world’s largest proton therapy facilities. He is also the chief of the Pediatric Radiation Oncology service and is a Professor of Radiation Oncology at the University of Pennsylvania, Perelman’s School of Medicine.
Prior to this, Prof. Tochner held several senior positions at the NCI’s Radiation Oncology Branch and at Hadassah University Hospital in Jerusalem, where he served as the head of the Radiation Oncology Institute.
Prof. Tochner received his MD from the Hebrew University-Hadassah Medical School and is board certified in Radiation and Medical Oncology. He was recognized by Best Doctors in America 2005-2006, 2009-2010, 2011-2012.